death by diaryland
still here
2004-01-09 | 6:18 p.m.
- / +

Today I had the voice exam that I was supposed to have at the end of last semester. I was sick with nerves. My being able to continue to be a voice major pretty much hinged upon the results. The pieces I prepared were Vorrei Di Te Fidarmi and T'intendo, si, mio cor by Vincenzo Righini, Die Vogel by Franz Schubert, Poor Wandring One by Gilbert and Sullivan, and Lo! Here the Gentle Lark by Sir Henry Bishop. You probably dont care which songs I learned do you? Anyway, for the jury(that is what the voice exam is called) we have to go and present the piece that we think is our strongest and then the the professors pick one or two more. I had all of the pieces learned really well except for the Lark. The Lark kicked my ass all last semester because it is so technically difficult. It was still kicking my ass yesterday when I was rehearsing and this morning when I was rehearsing. So I got dressed up and went to class. In the snow. Did I mention there was snow in this southeastern non-snow getting coastal carolina town? No? Well there was. Anyway, me, driving, dressed up, snow. It went surprisingly well. The snow driving to school that is. I went to my first class and I was so worked up about my impending jury that I didnt even take a moment to feel sorry for myself for having Music Theory at 8am. Those are some serious nerves. After class I rehearsed more and then finally just took a few minutes to breathe and meditate and get my wits about me. It was time. I went in and offered my strongest piece (T'intendo si mio cor if anyone cares) and it was brilliant. Yes! They looked at my list of offerings and said that they would like to hear two more pieces. Die Vogel to see how I handle the German and...AND Lo! Here the Gentle Lark. Shit Shit shit.I got through Die Vogel surprisingly well and completely on auto-pilot because I all I could think was "here comes the lark, here comes the lark, here comes the lark." Then she was playing the intro to the lark and I was singing and I felt myself mess up and instead of freezing or stumbling or just generally losing the plot, I continued to sing and I was done. And they thanked me and I left. I was still outside when my professor called me back in. She said that I had done wonderfully. The best yet. We all knew that I had messed up the Lark but they commended me for doing as well as I did on such a difficult piece. The Lark and I fought again today but for the first time I didnt get my butt handed to me. I got an A on the jury. I got an A for the class. I got skipped up to the next level of vocal study. I am still a voice performance major. Whew!

Mental State- Relieved


go back | stay here | go ahead